Mr. Peterson concentrates on land use and counsels clients who include some of Long Island’s most prominent developers, on navigating the often complex governmental processes required to successfully develop their real estate projects.


  • Chairman and CEO of Nassau Downs OTB (1998-2001)
  • Presiding Supervisor, Town of Hempstead (1993-1998)
  • Supervisor, Town of Hempstead (1987-1993)
  • Councilman, Town of Hempstead (1972-1987)
  • 2nd Vice Chairman, Nassau County Republican Committee (2011-Present)
  • Commissioner, New York State Board of Elections (2008-Present)


  • Endowed Scholarship, Hofstra University
  • Community Service Award, Rough Rider District, Nassau County Council
  • Leadership Award, Adjunct Faculty Association of Nassau Community College
  • Legion of Merit, Long Island South Central Division of Kiwanis International
  • Anton Kaiser Award, East Meadow Kiwanis
  • Man of the Year, East Meadow Chamber of Commerce
  • Criminal Justice Award, Former District Attorneys Association
  • Marvin I. Bernstein Humanitarian Award, East Meadow Chamber of Commerce
  • Man of the Year, East Meadow Soccer Club
  • National Co-Chairman, 75th Anniversary of Armenian Genocide
  • Outstanding Citizen Award, Nassau Coalition Against Child Abuse and Neglect
  • Edwin F. Hoebich Award, St. John’s Law School
  • Excellence in Public Service Award, Nassau County Medical Center
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, East Meadow Civic Association
  • Founder, East Meadow Community Pride Day
  • Hon. William Gitelman Award, Nassau Lawyers’ Association


  • President, Nassau Lawyers Association of L.I (2015-2016)
  • Nassau County Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (1978-1995)
  • Former Assistant District Attorneys Association
  • New York State Bar Association
  • Nassau County Bar Association, Real Estate and General Practice Committees
  • Board of Directors, Nassau Lawyers Association of L.I.
  • Kiwanis Club of East Meadow
  • East Meadow Chamber of Commerce
  • Nassau County Law Library Board of Trustees (1978-1982)